News Website

LPU lifted AIU’s North Zone Inter-University Kho-Kho (Women) Championship Trophy

Inter zonal matches will be played in Mysore in the month of July, 2022

Jalandhar : Association of Indian Universities’ (AIU’s) North Zone Inter-University Kho-Kho (Women) Championship-2022 was held at Baldev Raj Mittal Unipolis of Lovely Professional University (LPU) for three day among 14 strongly competitive teams of the zone.

Displaying the best of running and chasing skills of the game throughout their different matches; LPU women players grabbed the winners’ trophy from the clutches of strong considered opposing teams.

MDU Rohtak team is declared first runner up; KU Kurukshetra is second runner up; whereas, fourth place is bagged by Panjab University. Other zonal championships were scheduled at Bhuvneshwar, Gujarat, and Warangal for east, west and south zones, respectively.

Now, the inter-zonal matches will be played among 16 teams, with first four winners of each zone, at the University of Mysore in Karnataka from 5th to 7th July 2022.The championship was inaugurated by LPU Pro Chancellor Mrs Rashmi Mittal.

Congratulating the zonal champions at LPU, Mrs Mittal has further encouraged them to emerge as the national winners through their forthcoming matches. Highlighting, LPU provides various incentives to its sports students, including 100% tuition fee waiver, free lodging-boarding etc.

The illustrious wins made by its students, including that by ace Javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, at Olympics, Paralympics and various other international and national competitions are the best examples in this regard.

During the closing ceremony at LPU campus, Dean Dr Sorabh Lakhanpal at the Division of Student Welfare informed that through these matches, LPU team is being anticipated as the overall national winner of the championship.

Spectators applauded the best chases and running of LPU players, particularly for their pole diving, sudden direction changing, tapping, fake and late ‘Kho’, zig-zag movements, avoiding, dodging and more.

On this occasion, Guests of Honour from the Kho Kho Federation of India were its General Secretary Shri MS Tyagi; Co-Convener Referee Board India (ICICF), Shri Sumit Bhatia; and, Ex Treasurer (ICICF) Shri B S Tirath.

All participants at the championship appreciated various management committees of LPU which had been constituted for monitoring accommodation, transportation of guest players and officials; and the venue-management.


Comments are closed.

eskişehir eskort bayan - korsan taksi